Journal of International Management


The Journal of International Management (JIM) was inaugurated in 1995 and has been edited by Dr. Masaaki ‘Mike’ Kotabe since 2002 within The Fox School of Business, at Temple University. Devoted to advancing an understanding of issues in the management of global enterprises, global management theory, and practice, JIM also provides theoretical and managerial implications useful for the further development of research. It is designed to serve an audience of academic researchers and educators, as well as business professionals. JIM was selected by Thomson Reuters for inclusion in the Social Science Citation Index™ (SSCI) as of January 2007. The Journal Citation Reports® 2015 indicted that the Journal of International Management Five-Year Impact Factor was 3.20.

The Fox School of Business has a long-running history of excellence in International Business research and publications. Under the leadership of Dean M. Moshe Porat and Dr. Kotabe, Editor of JIM and the Washburn Chair Professor of International Business and Marketing and the President of the Academy of International Business (AIB), the Journal of International Management has risen to new heights, receiving record submissions of manuscripts and selected research papers, which are published in regular and special issues of JIM every year.

JIM is fast gaining recognition and visibility in a competitive IB journal market and differentiates itself with one of the fastest review processes in the industry – an average 30 day turn around on reviews and 24 hours on desk rejects. The quality and selectiveness of the editorial process is reflected in a 7.4% overall acceptance rate among general submissions.

The internationalized editorial board further enhances the reputation of JIM by bringing their expertise from different research areas to the review process. The Board represents more than 60 institutions, spanning almost 20 countries worldwide.

Electronic downloads, a reasonable indicator of readership, reached the 200,000 mark in 2014. Articles may be downloaded from our publisher, Elsevier, and are available in full text through electronic reference databases, and are abstracted on EBSCO.



Masaaki “Mike” Kotabe
Temple University — IGMS
1801 Liacouras Walk
A559 Alter Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19122
Phone: 215-204-7704
Fax: 215-204-1662

Managing Editor

Tanu Sarkar
Temple University, Fox School
1801 Liacouras Walk
A559 Alter Hall
Philadelphia, PA 19122

Book Review Editor

Mike Geppert
Friedrich Schiller University of Jena

Editorial Board

Björn Ambos St. Gallen University
Kazuhiro Asakawa Keio University
Preet S. Aulakh York University
B. Elango Illinois State University
Paul Beamish Ivey Business School at Western University
Jean Boddewyn Baruch College (CUNY)
David Brock Ben-Gurion University
Keith D. Brouthers Kings College
Lance Brouthers Kennesaw State University
Nejat Capar Bilkent University
Raveendra Chittoor Univeristy of Victoria
J. Jay Choi Temple University
Alvaro Cuervo-Cazurra Northeastern University
T. K. Das Baruch College (CUNY)
Deepak Datta University of Texas at Arlington
Deborah de Lange Ryerson University
Henrik Dellestrand Uppsala University
William G. Egelhoff Fordham University
Andreas Engelen TU Dortmund
Susan Feinberg Temple University
Mike Geppert Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Michael Geringer Ohio University
Kate Gillespie The University of Texas at Austin
Robert Grosse Thunderbird School of Global Management
Usha Haley West Virginia University
Niron Hashai The Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya
Jean-Francois Hennart Tilburg University
Thomas Hutzschenreuter Technical University Munich
Andrew Inkpen Thunderbird, AGSIM
Guoliang Frank Jiang Carleton University
Marshall S. Jiang Brock University
Jan Johanson Uppsala University
Gary Knight Williamette University
Nir Kshetri The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Arun KumaraswamyFlorida Interantional University
Sumit Kundu Florida International University
Nandini Lahiri American University
Somnath Lahiri Illinois State University
Marcus M Larsen Copenhagen Business School
Mark Lehrer Suffolk University
Tomasz Lenartowicz Florida Atlantic University
J.T. Li Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Peter Ping Li Copenhagen Business School
Sali Li University of South Carolina
Peter Liesch The University of Queensland
Yadong Luo University of Miami
Shige Makino The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Briance Mascarenhas Rutgers University
Gerald McDermott University of South Carolina
Michael J Mol Copenhagen Business School
Susan M. Mudambi Temple University
Janet Murray University of Missouri – Saint Louis
Cheryl Nakata University of North Carolina
Rajneesh Narula University of Reading
Fred Niederman Saint Louis University
Yigang Pan York University
Ronaldo Parente Florida International University
Arvind Parkhe Temple University
Pieter Pauwels Universiteit Hasselt
David Ralston Florida International University
Kannan Ramaswamy Thunderbird, AGSIM
Trond Randøy University of Adger
Subramanian Rangan INSEAD
Malika Richards Penn State University
Rakesh Sambharya Rutgers University-Camden
Saeed Samiee University of Tulsa
Andreas Schotter Ivey Business School at Western University
Margaret A. Shaffer University of Oklahoma
Katsuhiko Shimizu Keio University
K Sivakumar Lehigh University
Arjen Slangen RSM Erasmus Univeristy
Danchi Tan National Chengchi University
Vas Taras University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Eric W. K. Tsang University of Texas at Dallas
Rosalie Tung Simon Fraser University
Sharon Watson University of Delaware
Geoffrey Wood University of Essex
Mo Yamin University of Manchester
Aimin Yan Boston University