May 5 • 2 min read
Allan Domb, Councilman-At-Large, City of Philadelphia

Allan Domb, Councilman-At-Large, City of Philadelphia

On May 2, during the annual Department of Finance Awards Dinner, Students and faculty were honored for their various achievements throughout the school year. In attendance were invited students, faculty and the Real Estate Advisory Board. The Fox School of Business’ Dean Moshe Porat kicked off the dinner with some advice to students, “Our job is to work hard, day in and day out.” This passion was well represented among this year’s award and scholarship recipients.

The Keynote speaker of the event, was Councilman-At-Large, City of Philadelphia, Allan Domb, who also is a member of the Real Estate Advisory Board. As a Councilman, his goal is to make Philadelphia a healthy city through practical bills that benefit not only the residents in the city, but the businesses in the city, as well.

A highlight of the evening was a presentation of the inaugural Forrest Huffman Award. Councilman Domb, who has known Huffman for over 30 years, spoke about the many contributions that Huffman has made to the Philadelphia real estate community. They, along with Dr. Peter Chinloy presented Adrian Dolinay, Fox ‘17 with the Forrest Huffman Award. Huffman is retiring after nearly 30 years of remarkable service to the Temple University community. Dolinay was joined by several members of his family to receive this honor.

Chair of the Department, Ronald Anderson, closed the ceremony with remarks about the accomplishments the Department of Finance has achieved this past year and how the department is looking to the future.

“In student outcomes, we’re getting better and better at placing our students into great jobs, each year,” he exclaimed.

Next year the Department of Finance hopes to expand their Financial Planning and Real Estate program, and continue to build on this past year’s achievements.

Recipients of the awards included:
Jordan Abrams, Fox ‘19, Fred E. Kemner Scholarship
Anthony Merola, Fox ‘18, Jay Lamont Scholarship
Adrian Dolinay, Fox ‘17, Forrest Huffman Award
Hinal Patel, Fox‘17, Jack Ritchie Award
Srinivasan Kuppuswami, Fox ‘17, Finance Outstanding Student Award
Joseph Heidt, Fox ‘17, Owl Fund Leadership Award