Click here to register for the 2018 League for
Entrepreneurial Women’s Conference On October 16th!

The League for Entrepreneurial Women, which holds an annual conference, is an advocacy initiative that addresses the growing challenges and interests of entrepreneurial women in the Greater Philadelphia region. It was co-founded by Betsy Barber, associate dean of Temple University’s School of Tourism and Hospitality Management, and Betsy Leebron Tutelman, senior vice provost for Strategic Communications. The Innovation and Entrepreneurship Institute (IEI), under the leadership of Executive Director Ellen Weber, co-hosts the event.

This year’s conference will feature keynote speaker Yasmine Mustafa (Temple University ’06). Yasmine is a social entrepreneur fueled by a passion to leverage technology for good. Co-Founder & CEO of award-winning ROAR for Good, a certified B-corp., Yasmine embodies ROAR’s mission to reduce assaults and sexual harassment against women and men using smart safety wearable technology and community investments in empathy education.  Prior to ROAR, she founded and sold her first company to a prominent content marketing firm in Silicon Valley. 

Yasmine introduced non-profit Girl Develop It to Philadelphia, offering affordable opportunities to women of all ages interested in learning software development. She sits on the board of Coded by Kids, a non-profit committed to providing free tech education to youth in underserved communities.  The challenges Yasmine faced migrating to the U.S. as a refugee and discovering she was undocumented, drive her service as a champion for immigrants. Her “Birth Lottery” TEDx Philadelphia talk highlights the challenges (and opportunities) inherent in each life.

BBC selected Yasmine as one of its 100 Women of 2016 for her work in empowering women. Additional recognition includes Upstart 100’s most dynamic people shaping business, Philadelphia Magazine’s Top 20 Best Philadelphian’s, Philadelphia Business Journal’s 2016 Tech Disruptors, Technologist of the Year from Philly Geek Awards, and Innovator of the Year by Rad Girls. More recently, she received the Women of Courage award from Lutheran Settlement House, Visionary Leader by the City of Philadelphia, Badge of Courage Awardfrom WOAR (Women Organized Against Rape), recognition from Women Changing the City from CCPA (Center City Proprietors Association) and Emerging Women Leader’s Award from the Forum of Executive Women.  Yasmine graduated summa cum laude from Temple University’s Business Management program and lives in Center City.


League for Entrepreneurial Women Hall of Fame

Each year, the League for Entrepreneurial Women recognizes alumnae who have demonstrated entrepreneurial spirit and made outstanding achievements as innovators, entrepreneurs and leaders.

Hall of Fame Inductees 2017-2018

    International Sports Consultant
    Lizandra Consulting
    Founder, Richardson
    Author, Changing the Sales Conversation

Hall of Fame Inductee 2016-2017

    Podiatrist & Partner
    Mid-Atlantic Podiatric Group

Hall of Fame Inductees 2015 – 2016

  • ANNE NELSON, Factor3 Consulting
    Fox School of Business
  • KRISTIN GAVIN, Gearing Up
    College of Public Health
  • DANIELLE COHN, Comcast
    School of Media and Communication

Hall of Fame Inductees 2014 – 2015

  • BETH DUFFY, Einstein Medical Center Montgomery
    Fox School of Business
  • LINDA GRASS, Jeanes Hospital
    College of Public Health
  • CAROL MARTSOFF, Urban Engineers, Inc.
    College of Engineering

Hall of Fame Inductees 2013 – 2014

  • JOYCE SALZBERG, Sunny Days, Inc.
    College of Liberal Arts
  • REEM SHAFI, DMD, Two Rivers Dental PC
    Kornberg School of Dentistry

Hall of Fame Inductees 2012 – 2013

  • HARRIETT HAMILTON, PhD, Alabama A&M University
    School of Tourism and Hospitality Management
    College of Science and Technology
  • ROSEANN ROSENTHAL, Ben Franklin Technology Partners
    College of Liberal Arts

Hall of Fame Inductees 2011 – 2012

  • HELEN COONS, Women’s Mental Health Associates
    College of Liberal Arts
  • MARCIENE MATTELMAN, After School Activities Partnerships
    College of Education
  • JANE CREAMER SULLIVAN, The Sullivan Group
    School of Communications and Theater

Hall of Fame Inductees 2010 – 2011

  • MARINA KATS, Kats, van der Veen, Baccari & Associates
    Beasley School of Law
  • ELLEN TOPLIN, StarToplin Public Relations
    School of Social Administration

Hall of Fame Inductees 2009 – 2010

    School of Communications and Theater
  • HONG WANG, Temple University School of Medicine
    Fox School of Business
  • DEBORAH WILLIG, Willig, Williams & Davidson
    Beasley School of Law

Hall of Fame Inductees 2008 – 2009

  • WANDA PAUL, Philadelphia Convention and Visitors Bureau
    Fox School of Business
  • SARAH HETZNECKER, SunTechnics Energy Systems
    College of Science and Technology

Hall of Fame Inductees 2007-2008

  • LYNNE TARKA EWELL, Prism Engineering
    College of Engineering
    College of Liberal Arts
  • SHARON PINKENSON, Greater Philadelphia Film Office
    College of Public Health and College of Education

Hall of Fame Inductees 2006 – 2007

  • MARJORIE BRODY, BRODY Professional Development
    School of Communications and Theatre
  • MARGARET MCGOLDRICK, Abington Memorial Hospital
    Fox School of Business
  • AMBER SALZMAN, GlaxoSmithKline
    College of Science and Technology

Hall of Fame Inductees 2005 – 2006

  • MARY E. CONNELL, Girl Scouts of Camden County
    College of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance
  • LESLIE ANNE MILLER, Legal and Civic Leader
    Beasley School of Law

Hall of Fame Inductees 2004 – 2005

  • CAROL ANN KELL, Kell and Associates
    School of Communications and Theater
  • CAROLE I. SMITH, The WorkForce 2000 Initiative &
    College of Education

Hall of Fame Inaugural Inductees 2003 – 2004

  • MARY ANN LEEPER, The Female Health Company
    School of Pharmacy
  • LINDA MCALEER, The Melior Group
    Fox School of Business
  • EDNA TUTTLEMAN, Philadelphia Entrepreneur and Philanthropist
    Fox School of Business