Fox students at the school's annual awards nightThe PhD program proudly recognizes its students’ research achievements with recognition at both the Fox School’s Annual Awards Night as well as school-wide research forums.  These forums recognize the winners of both the Fox School’s annual research paper and dissertation competitions, and they afford top-tier PhD students the opportunity to present their research, receive awards and begin building their academic resumes.

In the Fox School’s PhD program, students who have received High Pass grades for their first or second year research papers are often invited to present their work in a school-wide forum, where they are given the opportunity to receive comments on their work, as well as receive awards based on these papers and possible monetary funding to continue their outstanding research.  PhD students who have recently defended their dissertation proposals are also provided with the opportunity to present their research, and recent graduates of the PhD program may compete for the honor of the Best Dissertation award.

Each concentration recommends one to two outstanding PhD students to present at this school-wide awards competition, where they are eligible to compete for these awards and receive further research or dissertation support.

The 8th Annual PhD Student Research Competition is on Wednesday, October 3, 2018 from 12-2PM in MBA Commons.
RSVP by September 28.

 Recent Award Recipients

Award 2017 2016 2015
Completed DissertationLauren Spirko, Statistical Science
Chi Zhang, Finance
Kartik Ganju, MISMichelle Andrews, Marketing
Dissertation ProposalYeil Kwon, Statistical ScienceChi Zhang, FinanceJing Xiao, Statistics
3rd and 4th Year Research PaperAaron Cheng, MISZeda Li, StatisticsKartik Ganju, MIS
Year Two Research PaperXue Guo, MISAaron Cheng, MISScott Bruce, Statistics
Year One Research PaperSiddharth Bhattacharya, MISXue Guo, MIS
Juan Zhang, Risk Management and Insurance
Yiran Su, Tourism and Sport